ST. JOHN'S AND ZION LUTHERAN CHURCHES PASTORAL LIST
Pastor John Klindworth (1859 - 1879)
Founded St. Matthew's Church in Galena in August, 1858. He then
founded our church in 1859. First church was built, St. John's, in
the Guilford twp.
Pastor George Kuempflein (1879 - 1886)
First parsonage was built in Schapville. He was the first resident
pastor. School house was built in 1881 and tuition was 50 cents a
month. Second church was built in Schapville, Zion. Pastor George
and his wife, Johanna children born while here were: Clara Maria
Addinga (June 18, 1880), Gustav August Adolf (August 21, 1882), and
Maria Martha Margaretha (February 21, 1885).
Pastor H.B. Kuhn (1886 - 1888) Property for
Zion cemetery was purchased.
Pastor G. F. Klindworth (1888 - 1900) Son
of the founder. Constitution was adopted. In 1891, new pews,
the steeple and the bell, the latter were added to St. John's
church. Barn was built on the parsonage property. Parsonage
was destroyed by fire in 1900. Pastor Gustav married Regina
Schlichting on February 5, 1890. They had three children: Ruby
Maria Sophia Catharina (January 27, 1892), Enno Johann Ludwig (July 10,
1896-August 9, 1897), Amos Johann Albert (October 29, 1898-August 22,
Pastor H.F. Meyer (1900 - 1907) Mission
Festival was started. They raised $77.15 at the offering.
Henry and wife, Eleonore Prigge had three children while serving as
pastor here: Herman Karl Heinrich (October 25, 1902), Eleonore
Johanna Henrietta (September 4, 1904), and Walter Hermann Johann (July
Pastor H. Hofhenke (1908 - 1921) Hymnals
were obtained from the Ohio Synod and used that liturgy. Each
member brought his or her own hymnal. St. John's added a new black
pulpit and alter. The first automobile garage was built at the
parsonage. Once a month there was an English service at St.
John's. The Brotherhood was organized at Zion (the records are
silent on further history of this organization). Electricity was
installed at the parsonage and Zion church. Rev. and wife, Bertha
Harms, had a son while here, Paul Theodor Herman (March 21, 1911) Their
older son, Heinrich (January 24, 1905) was confirmed in the class of
April 13, 1919.
Pastor H. Holzhausen (1921 - 1923) The envelope
system was used at Zion.
Pastor H. F. Leschensky (1923 - 1928)
Sunday school students started bring in offerings. Services were
half English and half German. They started using the duplex
envelope system. The pastor began receiving a monthly
salary. The parsonage was remodeled and the present parish hall
was built. St. John's received an alter in the memory of the
Wachter family. New constitution was adopted. Under the law
of the State of Illinois, the two congregations became
incorporated. St. John's discontinued the German services and
started the duplex envelope system. During his time here, Pastor
and wife, Gertrude Bartell, had a daughter, Lorraine Gertrude Wanda
(October 24, 1926).
Pastor Otto Moke (1928 - 1934) St. John's was
given an arched gate as a memorial by Mrs. John Dotzel. Since the
beginning of the church the chairman of the church council was the
pastor, now a member of the church was elected as chairman. The pastor's
salary was prorated by the confirmation membership. German
services were reduced at Zion to once a month. While Pastor Moke
and his wife, Laura Steinigeweg were here they had two children:
Lois Harriet (September 13, 1928) and David Fredrick (July 16, 1933).
Pastor Albert R. Seeman (1934 - 1938)
The pulpit at Zion was lowered and the organ was moved from the balcony
to the main floor. Art Koester began his duties as Janitor at St.
John's succeeding his father, who had held that position for many
years. Confirmation was held 4 days a week and it was changed to
Saturday only, for two (2) years and students started in the 7th
grade. Anyone over 16 years of age were considered an adult.
Pastor Seeman and his wife, Augusta Litzner, had a daughter, Georgane
Frances (July 17, 1935) while they were here.
Pastor Ernst W. Karsten (1938 - 1942) The
American Lutheran Hymnal was adopted. No more German services at
Zion. The parish became a member of the ALC Pension Fund.
Changes made to the Constitution so no officer could succeed
himself. Sunday services were held at both churches each
Sunday. Zion congregation purchased a strip of land and extensive
remodeling was done. This included the addition of stained glass
windows, new pulpit, pews, and oak flooring. The entry was
enlarged, the chancel built, and the cry room added. Some changes
were made to the school house by the Luther League and Choir.
Pastor Karsten and wife, Elva Huencke had two children while they were
here: Kathryn Ann (June 1, 1939) and Ernst Randall (October 17,
1940). Pastor Karsten entered the U.S. Army chaplaincy after
leaving our congregation.
Pastor A. T. Buckler (1942 - 1947) Women
were given the right to vote in church. St. John's received
electricity and a building fund was established. Lenten services
were alternated between the two churches on Wednesday evening.
Zion joined the American Lutheran Church. Zion congregation added
an Acre of land to the Zion Cemetery property. Mrs. Emma Liphardt
was recognized for 13 years of services as the organist.
Eight month vacancy.
Pastor R. F. Hahn (1948 - 1951) Vacation
Bible School was held every year. The Kilgen pipe organ was
purchased at Zion. The basement at Zion was excavated and built to
substantially what it is today. St. John's became members of the
American Lutheran Church. St. John's observed its 80th anniversary
of its dedication. While Pastor Hahn and his wife, Margaret
Burzlaff, were here they had a son, James Randolph Hahn (August 4,
Five month vacancy.
Pastor John Northwall (1951 - 1953)
Constitution was updated. St. John's was enlarged and
renovated. A new floor was installed, the pulpit lowered and
covered, interior redecorated and two Sunday School rooms added to the
western end of the structure. Pastor Northwall and his wife, Naomi
Ruth Ohntma, had a son while they were here: Karl Walter (May 2, 1952).
Five month vacancy.
Pastor Paul Albers (1953 - 1956) A
loud-speaker system was installed at Zion in memory of Russell Dotzel.
New front doors were added to Zion and a new baptismal font was
added. While Pastor Albers and his wife, Erna Fick, were here they
had a son, Mark Paul (May 30, 1955).
Pastor Elroy Dietrich (1956 - 1960) St.
John's obtained a new Hammond Spinet electric organ. Service Book
and Hymnals were purchased. Chancel pews and a new baptismal font
were added to St. John's as gifts from the Women's Missionary
Society. New doors were added to St. John's. A new propane gas
furnace was placed in the parsonage to replace the wood-coal
furnace. Pastor Dietrich and his wife, Joan Dahlsleat, had a son
while they were here: Carl Arthur (March 21, 1956).
Pastor Charles Mueller (1960 - 1962) A
choir was organized with 15 members. Zion and St. John's Churches
incorporated as St. Paul's Parish.
Pastor Ernest L. Serr (1962 - 1966) New
steeple was finished on St. Paul's (Zion) church. Lighted cross
was donated in memory of Raymond Schlichting. The Brotherhood held
a Mission Sunday and a family night.
Pastor David Siefert (1966 - 1969) St.
John's congregation celebrated its 100th anniversary. Lenten
services were joint with the Schapville Presbyterian Church.
Pastor John Paul Dexter (1970 - 1979)
Residents from Apple Canyon Lake began coming and many joined Zion
Lutheran church. Services and Sunday School were moved to Zion
church for each Sunday of 1973. In 1976, legal action was taken to
combine the two congregations. A vote was taken to dissolve the
church names of Zion and St. John's and adopt the new name of Shepherd
of the Hills Lutheran Church. New roof was put on the Schapville
church. Pastor Dexter and wife, Shirley, had two sons confirmed
while they were here: Joel Michael Dexter (1972) and Joshua
Anthony Dexter (1976).
Pastor James Gardner (1979 - 1994) New
hymnals were donated by Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Gustus. New piano was
purchased. The church was redecorated by The Religious Art
Group. It was voted to donate St. John's building to the mission
Lutheran church in East Dubuque. This was later abandoned because
of cost. New parsonage roof. Church signs were placed on
several roads, giving direction to the church. New siding for the
Over a year vacancy: The old garage at the
parsonage was torn down and a new two car garage was added. Air-conditioning
was added to the church and the parsonage.
Pastor Richard Downing (1995 - 1998) New
siding for the church. St. John's church building was sold for $10
to Sandy Wolfram and now rest on her farm as a wedding chapel.
Every summer, our congregation holds a Sunday service there and an old
fashion picnic follows the service.
Two year vacancy. Seminary Students from Wartburg
Seminary helped provide us with leadership. We were fortunate to
have one special student who helped in the leadership of our church for
most of the two year vacancy.
Pastor Barbara Rapp (2000 - 2002) First
women pastor in the history of our church. Shepherd of the Hills
was redecorated, new sound system installed, and protection windows were
installed to protect the stain glass windows.
Pastor Denise Anderson (2002
- 2003) Floor was refinished at Shepherd
of the Hills. All the old wooden signs for the church at different
locations in the area to direct visitors have been replaced with vinyl
Pastor Arthur Stees (2003 - )
Despite the frequent change of pastors, Shepherd of the
Hills parish has been fortunate in having Wartburg Seminary professors
and students, retired ministers and individuals from our church to
provide immeasurable and dedicated leadership. For this we are