Rev. John Klindworth was born on
August 9, 1833
. His father was a well-educated man and a teacher by profession. Rev. John came
at the age of twenty-five. He had been well educated with reference to his
future calling with the church. He was betrothed to Miss Catherine Brandt, who
with him, as his intended bride. They were married on
October 18, 1861
. To their marriage they were blessed with seven children. Their children are as
– She married Rev. A. Kleinlein.
– A minister of the Lutheran faith, he served
from 1888 to 1900.
– He also became a minister of the Lutheran faith, he served in
– He was a shipping clerk for the firm of Myer, Rose, & Co. in
– married Mr. Wecker.
– She passed away at the age of about three months.
– She passed away at the age of ten months old.
Rev. Klindworth founded St.
Matthew’s Lutheran church in
in 1858. He also founded
Lutheran church in
and Zion Congregation obtained land from Anton Schap in Schapville to build
their first parsonage (this was in March of 1879).
(Article from the Galena Gazette
on December 5, 1907 -- Rev. John Klindworth III -- The parochial
school of St. Matthew's Lutheran church was closed today by order of the mayor
on account the Rev. John Klindworth, pastor of St. Matthew's church being taken
ill with diphtheria. The home of Rev. Klindworth also has been placed under
quarantine. The many friends of Rev. Klindworth will learn with regret of his
illness, and will hope that he may recover as quickly as the nature of the
sickness will permit.)
Church record from St.
Matthew's Lutheran church states that Rev. John Klindworth took ill on December
2, 1907 and dictated a letter from his sick bed to his daughter, Mrs. Clara
Kleinlein. This letter was later read to the congregation after his death.
Rev. Klindworth’s wife, Catherine, passed away on the 23rd
day of March in 1900. Rev. John passed away on
the 5th of December 1907
. Both are buried in
along with their daughters Agnes, Emma, & Emilie and some granddaughters.
George Kaempflein(Served from 1879 – 1886)
Rev. Kaempflein was born around 1852. He was married to Hannah
(b. 1855 in Bovaria) and had
two girls when they moved to Schapville. His two girls were:Agnes (b. 1876) and Ester (1878 –
November 14, 1898
). He served a parish in New Baltimore, Michigan in 1875
coming to St. John and
’s Congregation. While at our congregation, he and his wife, Hannah had a son,
Gustow August Adolf (August 21, 1882). He withdrew from the Iowa Synod and
became an independent pastor with no synodical connection. He was the first
resident pastor for
and Zion Lutheran church. There was a need for a second church and so they
purchased the land from Mr. Philip Parker and built Zion Lutheran (also known as
the lower church) in Schapville,
, Jo Daviess County. Rev. George left this little community and moved to
where he served at
. While there, he and his wife had another son, George F. (b.
December 25, 1887
) and a daughter, Emma (b. 1889). He and his family later moved to Beloit,
where he passed away on
April 6, 1898
Hugo Basilius Kuhn(Served from 1886 – 1888)
Hugo B. Kuhn was installed (October 11, 1886) the day after the dedication of the new church in Schapville
. During his time at
, the church purchased land from Theodor Hoppe for the cemetery.
Rev. Kuhn was born around 1816. Not much is know about his life. Pastor
Kuhn resigned because of poor health in early October 1888. He then moved to Chicago,
IL, where he passed away from a chest illness that he had suffered from for the
past year. He passed away on
July 13, 1889
and his wasted body was laid to rest in a Christian manner with the
participation of the congregation that he belonged to. He is buried in a Lutheran
in Blue Island,
IL. He left behind a wife, one grown son and one grown daughter and many dear
Gustuv F. Klindworth
(Served from 1888 – 1900)
Gustuv F. Klindworth was born on
November 22, 1965
. He was the son of Rev. John & Catherine (Brandt) Klindworth, our founding
father. Rev. Gus attended
and then the
and Seminary in
. He was ordained on
April 30, 1883
. He served in
as an assistant for his brother-in-law, the Rev. A Kleinlein, from 1883 to
1888. His next call was to
and Zion Lutheran church.
While Rev. Klindworth was serving as pastor of
and Zion Lutheran church, he fell in love and married Miss Regina W.
Schlichting (a young women from his congregation in Schapville.)
Miss Regina W. Schlichtingwas
October 9, 1871
. She was the daughter of Louis and Sophia Schlichting.
was baptized by Rev. John Klindworth and confirmed in 1887 by Rev. Hugo Kuhn.
She was a homemaker. Two years before she passed away, she became ill. She
passed away on Monday, morning,
November 28, 1921
with her husband and two daughters at her side. She is buried at
. The cemetery is owned by the Salems & St. Paul’s Lutheran
Rev. Gustuv Klindworth and Miss Regina Schlichting were married on
February 5, 1890
in Schapville with Rev. John Klindworth officiating. To their union, they were
blessed with five children. There children are as followed:
Maria Sophia Catharine(January
27, 1892 – September 27, 1973)
Johann Ludwig(July 10, 1896 –
August 9, 1897)
Johann Albert (October 29, 1898 – August 22, 1900)
(June 7, 1901 -- July 12, 1901)
5. Flora(1904 --)
While Rev. Gustuv was at
, there were new pews installed at
, a new bell was given by Gustav Durstein and John Hesselbacher in 1891. In the
year, 1900, a barn was erected on the parsonage property. That year was also
memorable as the year that the parsonage was destroyed by fire. Rev. Gustuv also
lost his mother suddenly in March and lost his son, Amos in August. The
grew uneasy with Rev. Klindworth and asked for his resignation that same year.
Rev. Klindworth took a call from
’s Lutheran church in Lynville from 1900 to 1912. He served three other
congregations before he retired in 1932. Rev. Klindworth passed away on
June 22, 1933
. He is buried beside his wife in
Henry F. Meyer
from 1900 – 1907)
Rev. Henry Meyer was installed on
December 5, 1900
. He was married to Eleonore Prigge. They had three children while serving our
congregation. All three were baptized here. Their children were:Herman Karl Heinrich (October 25, 1902 - April 15, 1988); Eleonore Johanna Henrietta
(September 4, 1904 - October 1986); and Walter Hermann Johann (June 25, 1906-
While Rev. Meyer was here, our congregation held the first Mission
Festival picnic and they raised $77.00. During his time here at St. John’s
and Zion, the ornate copper ceiling at Zion
was installed in 1904. Rev. Meyer and Henry Boldt traveled to
to select the material for the ceiling which cost the congregation $800.00 and
an ornamental large crown for the chancel was purchased for an additional cost
of $10.00. It was brought back to Scales Mound by rail and then four teams of
horses and wagons brought it to the church. George Kuhn was one of the drivers
of the teams. The ceiling is still intact and the talk of all who attend services
(now Shepherd of the Hills). It still remains a mystery what the actual
material is that makes up the ceiling. The congregation also added the
handcrafted altar from Germany. This altar came across the
and through the
Wisconsin, then it was shipped by rail to
. Henry Schlichting and Louis Schultz brought the altar to Schapville by a team
of horses and a wagon. The altar cost the congregation $800.00.
Rev. Meyer contracted tuberculosis. He resigned and retired from the
December 7, 1907
Henry Hofhenke(Served from 1908 – 1921)
Henry Hofhenke was born on
November 13, 1876
. He graduated from Luther Seminary in
and was ordained in 1901 under the Ohio Synod. He served as a pastor in
for a total of fifty-five (55) years. He retired in 1956.
Rev. Henry was married to Bertha Harms on
December 15, 1903
. They had three children: Heinrich J. (January 24, 1905); Bertha J. (July 24,
1906); and Paul Theodor Hermann (March 21, 1911- December 21, 1995 in Alabama). Heinrich was confirmed at Zion
Lutheran church on
April 13, 1919
and Paul T.H. was baptized on
April 9, 1911
at the parsonage.
Pastor Hofhenke was installed on
February 26, 1908
. During his time at
, new hymnals were purchased from the
church. A new black pulpit and altar were purchased for the
site. The first automobile garage was built at the parsonage. The Brotherhood
organization was started in
October 20, 1917
and every male member was to become a member. No further information about this
group is known. One English service will be held each month at
. In 1920, electricity was installed at the parsonage and
Hofhenke registered to serve in WWI on September 12, 1918.
Pastor Hofhenke took a call to Zion Lutheran church in
, the beginning of January, 1921.
Pastor Hofhenke passed away on
February 14, 1968
at his home in
from 1921 – 1923)
Henry Holzhausen was born on
January 6, 1881
.He attended the Luther Theo.
. He wasordained
June 18, 1909
under the Ohio Synod.
Rev. Henry was married to Ida Grimm in 1909. To their union, they were
blessed withtwo children:Oscar (August 27, 1912) and Elvira (February 11, 1916). In 1935, his dear
wife, Ida, passed away. He later remarried Louis Steinke on
September 6, 1938
Rev. Holzhausen was installed on
April 3, 1921
. During his time here the following things were accomplished: The envelope
system was started at
in 1922, Membership was determined – a full membership was a single or
married man and a half membership was a widow or single lady.
At the end of 1922, the two congregations were getting dissatisfied with
Rev. Holzhausen and asked for his resignation. He took a call at Emanuel
Lutheran & St. Paul’s Lutheran Churches in
. He gave his last sermon on
May 27, 1923
. He served many congregations in
in his life time of ministry.
Rev. Holzhausen retired on September of 1956. He suffered several light
strokes that affected his mind to the point that he was unable to do anything.
He later died on
May 30, 1963
Herman F. Leschensky(Served from 1923 – 1928)
Rev. Herman F. Leschensky was born on
May 26, 1892
in Marion, Waupaca County, Wisconsin. His father was August Leschensky. He attended
and Seminary in
from 1908 to 1915. He was ordained on
June 23, 1915 under the Minnesota District and Ohio Synod.
Rev. Leschensky married Gertrude Barteilt on
July 8, 1915
. To their union, they were blessed with four children:Eugene J.
(July 25, 1916 - January 5, 1997) – he became a minister; Immanuel (
February 24, 1918
- February 1980); Armin (May 8, 1920 - January 1983); and Lorraine Gertrude Wanda (October 24,
1926 - ).
was baptized at
in Schapville on
November 7, 1926
. Rev. Leschensky’s wife, passed away in 1954. He later married a Louise Hertz
December 7, 1955
Rev. Leschensky was installed on
July 8, 1923
. During his time as pastor at St. John’s and Zion, he had services in German
as well as English, the parsonage was remodeled, building the new school house,
a basement was put under Zion church to hold a parish hall in 1925, and a new
altar was presented to St. John’s by the Wachter Family on November of 1926,
both congregations adopted a constitution. To keep in accordance with the State
became incorporated on January of 1928. Also in 1928, all services at
were held in English.
Rev. Leschensky took a call at Trinity Lutheran church in Loyal,
in January of 1928 after receiving a peaceful dismissal from our congregation.
He served on the Board of Education for over 8 years while in Loyal,
. He served in four other parishes in
. He retired on
April 21, 1963
Rev. Leschensky passed away on
August 20, 1976
Otto Carl Moke(Served
from 1928 – 1934)
Rev. Otto C.
Moke was born on
July 13, 1897
South Dakota . He was the son of Gottlieb and Anna (Nisch) Moke. He attended Dakota
Wesleyan in Mitchell
St. Paul’s Luther
in 1920 and
’s Luther Seminary in 1925. He was ordained in 1925 by the Joint Ohio Synod. He registered for WWI on
August 24, 1918
, at Rev. Moke married Laura Steinigeweg in 1925. To their union, they hadtwo children:Lois Harriet
(September 13, 1928) and David Fredrick (July 16, 1933).Lois was baptized on
October 18, 1928
at Zion Lutheran church and David was baptized on
August 9, 1933
at the church parsonage.
The congregation sent two calls to Rev. Moke before he agreed to be the
new pastor of
. He was previously the pastor at
’s Lutheran church in
. Rev. Moke was installed on
April 12, 1928
. During his time as pastor of
was:The arched gate way at
, it was given by Mrs. John Dotzel as a memorial. Also there was a woodshed
cemetery (to store equipment and wood).
Rev. Moke accepted a call from
’s Lutheran church in
in 1934. He later served in congregations in
before retiring in 1965 after 40 years of service to Our Lord.
October 4, 1978
, Rev. Moke passed away in
at the age of 81 years old.
Albert R. Seeman(Served from 1934 – 1938)
Rev. Albert Seeman was born on
February 9, 1898
He was the son of Ernest T. Seemen. His education was received at Wartburg
College in Waverly, Iowa in 1922 and then on to Wartburg Seminary in Dubuque,
Iowa. He graduated from seminary on June 1926. He was ordained on July 11, 1926
under the Iowa Synod.
married Augusta Litzner on August 6, 1928. To their union they were blessed with
two children: William C. (April 30, 1930) and Georjane Frances (July 17,
1935 and baptized at Zion Lutheran on August 4, 1935).
was installed by the Rev. Dieter from Clinton, Iowa on October 28, 1934. While
he was pastor, the following changes were made: The pulpit at Zion was
lowered and the organ was moved from the balcony to the main floor. Art Koester
began his duties as Janitor at St. John's succeeding his father, who had held
that position for many years. Confirmation was held 4 days a week and it was
changed to Saturday only, for two (2) years and students started in the 7th
grade. Anyone over 16 years of age were considered an adult (this was for anyone
joining the church)
Rev. Seeman wrote a letter to the congregation of both St. John's and Zion in
February of 1938. In this letter he had been called before the church trustees
and told to leave. Rev. Seeman was accused of making remarks about the former
pastor and other district leaders who made life miserable for him and his
family. Which lead to Mrs. Seeman's nervous breakdown. He also apologies for any
remarks to the congregation and that he would be leaving as soon as he could and
he wanted their forgiveness. Rev. Seeman gave his last sermon on May 1, 1938.
took time off to help his wife and family before taking another parish and
moving to St. John's Lutheran church in Patricksburg, Ind in 1951. He
served here for 17 years. He also served St. Paul's in Steubenville, Ind. until
his death on September 18, 1968. In his elder years he had considerable trouble
with arthritis and other minor ailments.
passed away in 1958 while at Patricksburg, Indiana.
Ernst W. Karsten(Served 1938 -- 1942)
Rev. Karsten was born on
June 1, 1905
, the son of Albert F. Karsten. He attended
from 1922 to 1926. Then he attended Wartburg Seminary from 1926 to 1929. He was
June 16, 1929
under the Iowa Synod. His first call was with
. He served in another parish and was a chaplain in the U.S. Army before coming
Rev. Karsten married Elva Hueneke (b.
September 22, 1904
in Alts Vista, Iowa)
August 8, 1929
. To their union, they were blessed with eight children:Joan M. (October 7, 1930); John A. (March 23, 1932); Carla R. (February
22, 1935); Wanda L. (April 6, 1937); Kathryn Ann (June 1, 1939, she was baptized
at Zion Lutheran on June 8, 1939); Ernst Randall (October 14, 1940, he was
baptized at Zion Lutheran on November 10, 1940); Gail M. (May 3, 1944); and E.
Melise (June 5, 1945). The two children that were born during the Karsten’s
stay were born in the parsonage with the help of Ruth Dotzel, who at the time
was the church organist.
Karsten’s stay at our congregation the following items were accomplished:
†The American Lutheran Hymnal was adopted.
†No more German services at
†The parish became a member of the ALC Pension Fund.
†Changes made to the Constitution, so no officer should succeed
†Sunday services were held at both churches each Sunday.
†They did a extensive remodeling job on
. The remodeling included the addition of stained glass windows, new pulpit
(Pastor Karsten carved the panels for the pulpit, on their kitchen table in the
parsonage. He was unable to find a pulpit to match the carvings on the altar, so
he volunteered to build one. He did the carving and a couple of men from the
congregation helped him with the mill work and construction of the pulpit.), new
pews were added, the oak flooring, the entry was added along with the cry room,
the new cement steps, a basement was added with fellowship hall, kitchen &
bath rooms, the front of the chancel was changed to what it is now
(with one room on each side), the drive way was bulldozed and blazed to make it
wider, and some changes to the school house by the Luther League and Choir. On
May 20, 1941
, there was a dedication service held for all the redecorating and remodeling of
the church. Rev. William String of
, Rev. T.J. Pagel from
and Rev. F.W. Henke from
came to the celebration and each preached on the occasion.
Rev. Karsten resigned to serve as a chaplain again in the U.S. Army,
since the USA
entered the war in
. The Karsten family moved to
while Rev. Karsten served his country. Lois Grebner went to live with the
Karsten family in Alabama, to help Mrs. Karsten with the children while Rev. Karsten was away at war.
Rev. Karsten served in
Hawaii; and Kansas.
Rev. Karsten retired in June of 1970, but he served as Interim Pastor
until 1977. He passed away on
October 6, 1991
Arnd Traugott Buckler(Served
1942 – 1947)
Rev. Buckler was born on
April 9, 1899
, the son of Frederick Emil Schimpfky Buckler. He attended
from 1918 to 1919, then
from 1919 to 1920, then St. Paul Luther Seminary from 1920 to 1923. His
transcript of credits has a solid B average. He was ordained on
June 17, 1923
under the Joint Synod of Ohio. His first congregation was at
’s Lutheran church in
Rev. Buckler married Laura Viola Olson (b.
September 6, 1902
– d. July 1978. She was a Registered Nurse) on
December 12, 1924
. To their union they had six children:Paul
F. (November 18, 1925 – August 17, 1999); Margaret (1927);
Genevieve (1929); Phyllis (1930); Dorothy (1932); and Gerald (1936).
Rev. Buckler was installed on
July 5, 1942
by Rev. Pagels of
. While he served our congregation the following things were done:
†Women were given the right to vote in church.
received electricity and a building fund was established.
†Lenten services were alternated between the two churches on
congregation purchased an acre of land from the Zion Presbyterian church in
1947, for the cemetery.
†Mrs. Emma Liphardt was recognized for her 13 years of service as
Rev. Buckler resigned and left our congregation on October 1947 to take a
.After leaving her he was involved
with many organizations (Commander of Legion Post, President of Community
Library Club, President of Peoria Conference Sunday School Teachers Association
and the list goes on) while in Cullom and
. He retired on
July 1, 1976
Rev. Buckler passed away on June of 1980 at
Eight Month Vacancy
Randolph Frederick Hahn(Served
1948 – 1951)
Rev. Hahn was born on May 7, 1915
, the son of Herman Hahn. He attended
from 1944 to 1945. He then attended Wartburg Seminary in
from 1945 to 1948. He was ordained on
June 6, 1948
Rev. Hahn married Margaret Burzlaff (1918
October 18, 1942
. To their union, they were blessed with three children:James Randolph (baptized on September 11, 1949 at Zion
Lutheran Church); Kathryn Margaret (1951): and Donald Paul (1955).
While Rev. Hahn was pastor of
the following items were accomplished:
was held every year;
†The Kilgen pipe organ was purchased at
†The basement at
was excavated and built to substantially what it is today.
became members of the
observed its 80th Anniversary of its dedication.
†Mrs. Hahn directed a joint choir of the two churches.
Rev. Hahn took a call from
on January of 1951. He then served two congregations in
before retiring. He now lives with his son Donald in California.
Rev. Hahn passed away on May 20, 2006 at Glendale, Los Angeles County,
Five Months Vacancy
1951 – 1953)
Rev. Northwall was born in 1927
, the son of Walter Northwall. He received his higher education at
from 1944 to 1947, then he attended the State University of Iowa from 1947 to
1948. Afterwards he attended Wartburg Seminary in
from 1948 to 1951. He received his Ph. D in Speech from the University
in 1969. He was ordained on
June 3, 1951
Rev. Northwall married Naomi Ruth Ohrtman (1925 in Fonda,
June 10, 1951
. To their union, they were blessed with four children:Karl Walter (baptized at Zion
Lutheran church on May 18, 1952); Susan (1953); Luke (1956); and Karen (1960).
During the time that Rev. Northwall served as our pastor the following
items were accomplished:
†Constitution was updated.
was enlarged and renovated. A new floor was installed, the pulpit was lowered
and covered, the interior was redecorated and two Sunday School rooms were added
to the western end of the church.
Rev. Northwall took a call at
. He left in March of 1953.In 1978,
he was teaching at
. He lives in
with his wife, Naomi Ruth.
Five Months Vacancy
Paul Eugene Albers(Served
1953 – 1956)
Rev. Albers was born in 1924
, the son of Eilert William Albers. He received his education at
from 1947 to 1950 and then attended Wartburg Seminary in
from 1950 to 1953. He was ordained on
June 28, 1953
, Illinois District.
Rev. Albers married Erna K.B. Fick (1927 in Boyden, Iowa) on
June 14, 1953
. The couple was blessed with four children:Mark Paul (he was baptized at Zion Lutheran church on June
12, 1955); Timothy John (1957); Anna Marie (1962); and Ruth Erna
Rev. Albers first call was at
and Zion Lutheran church. During his time that he served as pastor the
following accomplishments were completed:
†A loud-speaker system was installed at
in memory of Russell Dotzel.
†New front doors were added to
†A new Baptismal Font was added.
Rev. Albers took a call from Good Shepherd in
in February of 1956. After serving that congregation the
loan Rev. Albers to the
. He served in
from 1960 to 1970. He then was released from the
and served six parishes in all. He retired from parish service in June of 1991,
but became the chaplain at the Loxton Lutheran Rest Home from 1991 to
July 25, 2004
. He is now properly “retired”.
Rev. and Mrs. Albers celebrated their 50th marriage
anniversary and the 50th anniversary of his ordination in
on the 29 of June, 2003. They have moved into a retirement village near the
Rev. Elroy Dietrich(Served 1956 – 1960)
Rev. Dietrich was born in 1928
Wisconsin, he was the son of Paul F. Dietrich. He received his education at Milwaukee
State Teacher’s in Milwaukee,
in the fall of 1946. He then attended
from 1948 to 1952 and then attended Wartburg Seminary in
from 1952 to 1956. He was ordained on
February 5, 1956
under the American
Rev. Dietrich married Joan Dahlstedt (1933 in Fort Wing,
August 9, 1953
.They were blessed with one son,
Carl Arthur (he was baptized at Zion Lutheran on April 29, 1956).
During Rev. Dietrich time at our congregation the following events
obtained a new Hammond Spinet electric organ.
†Service Book and Hymnals were purchased.
†Chancel pews and a new baptismal font were added to
as a gift from the Women’s Missionary Society.
†New doors were added to
†A new propane gas
furnace was placed in the parsonage to replace the wood-coal furnace.
Rev. Dietrich took a call from
’s Lutheran church in
. He left our congregation in March of 1960.
Charles Mueller (Served from 1960 -
Rev. Charles Mueller was
born on November 4, 1933 in Cedarburg, Wisconsin. He was the son of Arno
Fredrick & Edna Mueller. He was educated at Marquette University in
Milwaukee, then Wartburg College in Waverly, IA and then to the Wartburg
Seminary in Dubuque, IA. He graduated from Wartburg Seminary in May of 1960 and
was ordained on June 5, 1960. Taking a call at St. John's Lutheran church &
Zion Lutheran church as his first parish. He served here for two years.
Rev. Mueller married
Helene L. Bencke (1936) on August 11, 1957.
To their union, they were blessed with two children, Edna (1959) and Eric
(1963). His wife, Helene, was an elementary school teacher. She enjoyed sewing,
music, gardening and reading.
His last parish was St.
Luke's Lutheran church in Manchester, Missouri. He had served there since
January 1984 and retired in 1999. Rev. Mueller passed away on August 25, 1999 at St. Louis,
A choir was organized with 15
members. Zion and St. John'sChurches incorporated as St. Paul's Parish.
Ernest L. Serr
(Served from 1962 - 1966)
Serr was born in 1931 in Botkins, Ohio. He was the son of Otto & Sophia Serr.
He was the youngest of seven children. He was
educated at Bowling Green State University, Capital University in Columbus,
Ohio, Evangelic Lutheran Theological Seminary in Columbus, Ohio, Northwestern Lutheran
Seminary in Minneapolis and Wartburg Seminary in Dubuque, IA. He was
ordained on July 28, 1957. His first parish was St. John's Lutheran church in
Rev. Serr married Beverly
Wenzel (1934) on June 10, 1956. To their union, they were blessed with a son,
Brian (1958). His wife, Beverly was a elementary teacher. His last place of
employment was Mendota Lutheran Home as a Administration/Chaplain. He started at
this position in May, 1981 and retired in 1994.
New steeple was finished on St. Paul's (Zion) church. Lighted cross was donated in
memory of Raymond Schlichting. The Brotherhood held a Mission Sunday and a family night.
Rev. David Siefert(Served from 1966 - 1969)
St. John's congregation celebrated its 100th anniversary.
Lenten services were joint with the Schapville Presbyterian Church.
Rev. John Paul Dexter(Served from 1970 - 1979)
Rev. Dexter was born on June 26, 1932
in Kankakee, IL, he was the son of Charles Dexter and Lorette E. Meintz Dykstra.
He married Shirley Capper on June 1, 1954. He was ordained a minister of the
Lutheran Church in 1958. He received a call from St. John's and Zion Lutheran
Church in Jo Daviess County in IL on July 7, 1970. He was installed pastor
of both congregations on August 16, 1970. Along with him and his wife, Shirley
they brought to the Schapville parsonage four sons. Residents from AppleCanyonLake began coming and many joined Zion Lutheran
church. Services and Sunday School were moved to Zion church for each Sunday of 1973. In 1976,
legal action was taken to combine the two congregations. A vote was taken
to dissolve the church names of Zion and St. John's and adopt the new name of Shepherd of the HillsLutheranChurch. New roof was put on the Schapville
church. Pastor Dexter and wife, Shirley, had two sons confirmed while they
were here: Joel Michael Dexter (1972) and Joshua Anthony Dexter (1976).
Rev. Dexter left Shepherd of the Hills Lutheran Church in 1979. Even after he
left, he kept in close contact with members of the congregation. He passed away
at St. Mary's Hospital in Galesburg, IL on December 11, 1988. He is buried in
Danforth Cemetery in Danforth, IL
James Gardner (Served
from 1979 - 1994)
was born in Omaha, Nebraska. He graduated from Dana College in Blair, Nebraska
in 1974 and Wartburg Seminary in Dubuque, Iowa in 1978. His first call was at
Shepherd of the Hills Lutheran Church (St. John's and Zion Lutheran Churches) in Elizabeth,
IL on December 30, 1979. He was married to Cheryl
in May 1, 1974. They had no children.
hymnals were donated by Mr. & Mrs. Oscar Gustus. New piano was
purchased. The church was redecorated by The Religious Art Group. It
was voted to donate St. John's building to the mission Lutheran church in East Dubuque. This was later abandoned because of cost.
New parsonage roof. Church signs were placed on several roads, giving
direction to the church. New siding for the parsonage.
Over a Year Vacancy
old garage at the parsonage was torn down and a new two car garage was added.
Air-conditioning was added to the church and the parsonage.
Dowling (Served from 1995
Rev. Dowling was born in Akron, Iowa. He attended high school at Akron Community High
School and college at Westmar College in LeMars, Iowa and Lutheran
School of Theology in Chicago, Illinois. He also did Clinical Pastoral Education
at Christ Community Hospital in Oak lawn, IL and Iowa State Mental Hospital in
Rev. Dowling married Paula
Koehler in 1978. They were blessed with four sons: Thomas P.; James P.; John P.;
and Robert P..
New siding for
the church. St. John's church building was sold for $10 to Sandy
Wolfram and now rest on her farm as a wedding chapel. Every summer, our
congregation holds a Sunday service there and an old fashion picnic follows the
service. Construction of the new sign in front of the Shepherd of the Hills
church. Gazebo was built over the place where St. John's church once stood. The
first computer for the church office was purchased.
Dowling attended the 1997 National Youth Convention in New Orleans with 5 youth
and one other adult from our congregation.He
belonged to the Apple Canyon Lake Fire Department. He expanded his puppet
Rev. Dowling took a call
from Redeemer Lutheran Church in Rio, Wisconsin. This was to move them closer to
Paula's family who live in Wisconsin. He gave his last sermon on March 15, 1998,
he also held Confirmation that Sunday.
Two Year Vacancy
Students from Wartburg Seminary helped provide us with leadership. We were
fortunate to have one special student who helped in the leadership of our church
for most of the two year vacancy.
Tony was a Seminary Student
from Wartburg who gave our congregation one and a half years of service. He
preformed the duties of a supply pastor while he was here. His wife, Rhonda was
involved with the choir and children's choir. His three children attended Sunday
School and was in the children's choir. He played the guitar, which added more
music on certain Sunday's. Tony, Rhonda, Elizabeth, Sam and Justin became
a part of our congregational family. In spring of 2000, Tony and his family were
going to leave so he could do his internship in South Dakota.
Barbara Rapp(Served from 2000 - 2002)
First women pastor in
the history of our church. Shepherd of the Hills was redecorated, new
sound system installed, and protection windows were installed to protect the
stain glass windows. During this time the church parsonage remained vacant.
Rev. Rapp was a part-time
minister and worked part-time for the Bishop's Office. Rev. Rapp resigned as
pastor of Shepherd of the Hills in August 2002. She is now working with Campus
Ministry at De Kalb University, De Kalb, IL.
Denise Anderson(Served from 2002 - 2003)
accepted our call after she graduated from Wartburg Seminary, Dubuque, Iowa. She
was married to Kevin and they had three children. Her and her husband lived in
Dubuque, Iowa while serving our congregation.
was refinished at Shepherd of the Hills. All the old wooden signs for the church
at different locations in the area to direct visitors have been replaced with
vinyl direction signs.
Rev. Anderson was extended another
one year contract and she declined the contract. She accepted a call from the Lutheran church in Cuba
Arthur Stees (Served from 2003
- May 15, 2005)
Rev. Stees entered into a 18 month contract with Shepherd of the Hills
congregation . We need a pastor and had an empty parsonage. The Stees need a home to live in after
selling their home in Freeport and Pastor was retired. Pastor & Audrey Stees
lived in the parsonage from August 2003 until March 26, 2005. They moved into
their new retirement condo in Freeport, IL. He will be serving Shepherd of the
Hills month by month, until we approve a new pastor.
During this time our congregation has purchased over 10 acres of land just up
the road from the church. It is for future plans of maybe moving the church to
the new sight. A church directory was done. The Stees have spruced up the
parsonage and the grounds around the parsonage.
Barb Rapp (Served from May 15,
2005 -- )
The Congregation of Shepherd of the Hills voted to extend a call to Pastor Barb
Rapp on April 17, 2005. She accepted the call. She will be starting on May 16,
2005. Her future plans are to sell her home in Freeport and move into the church
parsonage for one year and a half. During her time of living in the parsonage,
she will pray and consider about purchasing her own home in the area.
As of July her future plans have been completed. She sold her home in Freeport
and moved into the church parsonage on July 13, 2005.
On September 11, 2005, the Congregation of Shepherd of the Hills Lutheran Church
will be taking a vote on moving the church from its existing site to the new
site, hiring a architect and contractor, and applying for a loan thru Mission
Funding. The meeting will be held at 11 am following the 10 am service. The
congregation voted to continue with the plans for adding on to the church and
wanted cost for the new site and the old site. To move the church and keep
Maryville Construction, the congregation voted it down.
March 12, 2006, the Congregation of Shepherd of the Hills Lutheran Church took a
vote to move the church to the new site and add on to the east side of the
church and extend the entry way.
2006, Groundbreaking ceremony at the new site. On June 4, 2006, the last services at the old
site will be celebrated. Photos of those members and guest attending were taken
after each service. The church will be moved in June,
June 28, 2006 -- the church was moved from the present location up the road a
half mile to the new site. The move started getting the church ready before 8 am
and was completed by 4:50 pm.
December 24, 2006 -- the first service
was held since the moving of the church. The sanctuary area has been given the
ok to worship in by the county. Our congregation is now home again.
January 28, 2007 -- Dedication of the new
addition. A 3 pm service was held. There were 208 people at the dedication
service and many more attended the luncheon and open house that followed the
Despite the frequent change of pastors, Shepherd of the
Hills parish has been fortunate in having Wartburg Seminary professors and
students, retired ministers and individuals from our church to provide
immeasurable and dedicated leadership. For this we are thankful.